地区乐团评估

第十二区乐团评估信息

在2017/2018年,TJMS乐团获得了“高级”评级。 那是最好的!

今年的12区乐团评估将于1月2日和3日,星期五和星期六在Kenmore中学举行。 阿灵顿和费尔法克斯县的管弦乐队为XNUMX名专业弦乐评委组成的小组执行一项计划,以接收评论,作为对我们管弦乐队计划的反馈。

这是一个 强制性 性能,相当于SOL音乐器乐测试。

这是一个有趣且具有教育意义的活动,因为学生有机会一起表演,获得宝贵的反馈并听到其他团体的表演(如果时间允许的话)。

我们将乘坐校车前往该地点。 我们将在上午在杰斐逊(AM)开会,并于1月00日或1日下午2:XNUMX左右返回。


一些有关地区评估的常见问题:

  • 什么是地区评估? 地区评估是一个由两部分组成的表演活动,当地乐团为评委们表演预备和“新”音乐。 所有阿灵顿学校都分配到第12区。乐队,管弦乐队和合唱团分别举行中学和中学活动。
  • 我们如何做? 在舞台上,乐团为3名评委进行了XNUMX个准备好的选择(热身和XNUMX个“音乐会”作品)。 舞台演出结束后,合奏将移至单独的房间,他们将在设定的时限内预览并演奏从未见过的音乐。 事件的这一部分也将进行判断,称为“观光”。
  • 为什么这些人在礼堂后面说话? 在学生表演时,评委使用录音机记录评论,为年轻的音乐家提供有关未来改进的技巧。 这些录音在演出后交给导演。
  • 什么是高级? “ C / O”是什么意思? 
    一些合唱团只为“ Comments Only”(有时标记为“ C / O”)表演,并且只为他们的表演收到书面和口头反馈。 对于其余的乐团,评委将使用专栏为乐队,乐团或合唱团评分。 四位评委的评分(3阶段/准备和1次朗读)相加,得出整体评分或对该乐团进行“评估”。 等级量表(来自每个法官的综合得分)如下:

    • 我=上级(最高评分)
    • II =优秀
    • III =好
    • IV =一般
    • V =差(最低评分)
  • II级与II级有何不同? 
    单独的罗马数字刻度也用于对学生演奏音乐的难度进行分类。 弗吉尼亚州的音乐难度范围从I(开始音乐)到VI(高级中学音乐)。在弗吉尼亚州,大多数中学(包括TJMS)演奏II级和III级音乐,尽管有些中学演奏IV级音乐。 。 大多数高中都会演奏IV,V和VI年级的音乐。

关于地区评估,我还应该了解什么?

  • 这不是竞争。
    尽管使用标准化的量表来评估表演合奏,但“地区评估”并不是竞争。 我们的表演没有给出数字评分或排名。 表演更像是我们乐团的“成绩”,有时与乐团的“ SOL”考试相比。
  • 父母/家人可以参加吗?
    是的,请计划参加!
  • 我应该鼓掌吗?
    就像其他表演一样,我们的学生欣赏掌声表示赞赏他们的辛勤工作,而不是在片之间保持沉默。 即使您听见评委在两个选择之间对着他们的录音机讲话,也应该承认我们学生的表演!

District Orchestra Assessment

District 12 Orchestra Assessment Information

In 2017/2018, TJMS Orchestra received a rating of “Superior.”  That’s the best!

This year’s District 12 Orchestra Assessment will be held on Friday and Saturday, March 1 and 2 at Kenmore Middle School.  Orchestras from Arlington and Fairfax Counties perform a program for a panel of 3 professional string judges to receive comments that serve as feedback on our orchestra program.

This is a mandatory performance, equivalent to SOL tests for instrumental music.

This is a fun and educational event, as students have the chance to perform together, receive valuable feedback and get to hear other groups perform (if time permits).

We will be taking a school bus to the location. We will meet early in the AM at Jefferson and return by 1:00 p.m or so on March 1 or 2.


Some frequently asked questions about District Assessment:

  • What is District Assessment? District Assessment is a two-part performance event where local music ensembles perform both prepared and “new” music for a panel of judges.  All Arlington schools are assigned to District 12. Separate middle school and high school events are held for band, orchestra, and chorus.
  • How does it work? On stage, the ensembles perform three prepared selections (a warm-up and two “concert” pieces) for a panel of 3 judges. After the stage performances, the ensemble moves to a separate room where they will preview and perform a piece of music they have never seen before within a set time limit.  This part of the event is also judged and is called “Sightreading.”
  • Why are those people talking in the back of the auditorium? While the students are performing, the judges record comments using a voice recorder to give the young musicians tips on how to improve in the future.  These recordings are given to the director after the performance.
  • What’s a Superior? What does “C/O” mean? 
    Some ensembles perform for “Comments Only” (sometimes marked as “C/O”), and receive only written and verbal feedback for their performances.  For the remaining ensembles, judges will use a rubric to give the band, orchestra, or chorus a rating for their performance.  The ratings from the four judges (3 stage/prepared and 1 sightreading) are combined for an overall rating or “assessment” of the ensemble.  The rating scale (from each judge and for the combined score) is as follows:

    • I = Superior (the highest rating)
    • II = Excellent
    • III = Good
    • IV = Fair
    • V = Poor (the lowest rating)
  • How is a Grade II different from a Rating II? 
    A separate Roman numeral scale is also used to classify the difficulty of music students perform.  The Virginia music difficulty scale ranges from I (beginning music) to VI (advanced high school music.)  Across the state of Virginia, most middle schools (including TJMS) perform Grade II and Grade III music, although some middle schools play Grade IV music. Most high schools perform music in the Grade IV, V, and VI range.

What else should I know about District Assessment?

  • It’s not a competition.
    Although a standardized scale is used to assess performing ensembles, District Assessment is not a competition. No numerical score or ranking is given for our performances.  The performances are more like a “grade” for our ensembles, which is sometimes compared to being an “SOL” exam for music ensembles.
  • Are parents/families allowed to attend?
    Yes, please plan on attending!
  • Should I clap?
    Just like any other performance, our students appreciate applause to recognize their hard work, rather than awkward silence in between pieces.  Even if you hear the judges talking into their voice recorders between selections, it is still appropriate to acknowledge our students’ performances!