评估政策

评估目的 
评估有助于学习。 它有助于向学生提供有关学习过程的反馈。 评估有助于告知,增强和修改教学过程。 它支持整个孩子的成长。 出色的评估可以利用创造性和批判性思维来培养学生对学习的积极态度。
评估标准 
作为一所国际文凭学校,每位教师必须在一年中至少两次使用各种总结性评估来评估下面列出的特定学科组标准。 这些标准代表必须教授的知识,理解和技能的使用。 它们总结如下,完整的MYP标准和第1年级(六年级)至6年级(3年级)在这里发布: IB MYP评估目标和范围, IB Objetivos – En Espanol, أهداف البكالوريا الدولية – الغة العربية.
主题 标准A 标准B 标准C 标准D
艺术  认识与理解 发展技能 创造性思维 响应
设计                                       查询与分析 发展思路 创建解决方案 综合评估,推荐到岗
个人和社会  认识与理解 调查 沟通 认真思考
语言习得  听力 阅读 口语 写作
语言文学  分析 组织 产生文字 使用语言
数学 认识与理解 调查模式 沟通 在现实生活中应用数学
体育与健康教育 认识与理解 规划绩效 申请和执行 反映并提高绩效
科学 认识与理解 咨询设计 处理与评估 反思科学的影响
跨学科课程 综合评估,推荐到岗 综合 反映
社区项目 调查 规划 采取行动 反映
总结测评
学习评估(决定成绩)。 这些是与探究陈述直接相关的表演或任务,表明学生对IB科目标准的理解。 它们基于这样的理论:理解不是我们拥有的东西(就像我们拥有的一系列事实一样),而是我们可以做的事情。 中学项目在广义上使用“绩效”一词来描述所有形式的评估。 总结性评估的类型可能包括:组成,问题或产品解决方案的创建,论文,考试,问卷,调查,研究,表演和演示。 为了确保总结性任务的深度和复杂性,教师经常使用GRASPS模型(目标,角色,受众,情况,产品,标准)。 使用该模型可以创建令人兴奋的现实世界评估。
形成性评估
评估用于学习(不用于评分)。 这应该在学习之前和学习期间完成。 有效的形成性评估可以帮助个性化学习,并为学生提供机会来完善或演练总结性评估的表现。 同伴和自我评估是学习的强大工具。 这些形成性评估(检查是否理解)应在每堂课期间进行。 有效的形成性评估的示例包括:1分钟的论文,Google表格,1个句子摘要,退出通知单,手势,快速书写,思想对分享,同伴访谈,类比提示或1个单词摘要。
区别
修改教学策略以满足多样化的学习需求。 让学生追求适当的个人学习目标。 考虑每个学生的语言资料。 应用以下原则:1)确认身份并建立自尊心,2)重视先验知识,3)脚手架(支撑),4)扩展学习。 在内容,过程和产品方面有所区别。 按内容:学生应该知道什么? 按过程:哪些活动将帮助学生理解知识,技能和理解? 按产品:哪些任务将提供学生知道,理解和能够做的证据?
特定于任务的说明
中学项目以整体形式发布评估标准,因为评估标准提供了关于学生成绩的一般性,定性的价值陈述。 此外,这些专栏区域是使用特定的命令术语创建的,这些术语在各个科目和年级水平, 命令条款发布在这里。 特定于任务的澄清要求教师根据特定评估重新起草价值说明。 它应该在每个单元的开始处完成。
不适当的评分做法
中学项目是对传统分级方法的挑战。 通过按比例分配功课,家庭作业和测验来确定成绩是不合适的。 通过对标准中所有汇总评估求平均值来确定等级是不合适的。 单凭证据确定最终成绩是不合适的.
确定成绩
MYP学生成绩报告应传达每个评估标准的学生成绩水平。 它使学生​​和家长可以了解学生在每个目标上的表现。 教师在分析学生的总成绩时要注意数据的模式,包括提高成绩,保持一致性和减轻环境,以确定学生的最终成就水平。 在下面的两个示例中,通过查看模式确定最终分数可以更好地了解学生在评分期结束时的理解,而不是简单地求平均。 由于形成式不计入期末成绩,因此学生在学习过程中得分不高不会受到惩罚。
学生 形成性*家庭作业最多8 形成性*测验
最大8
形成性*出票最多8张 标准A
单元测试
最大8
标准A项目最多8个 标准A DBQ
最大8
标准滑梯
最大8
标准A 论文  最大8 最终得分标准A最高8
索菲亚 8 3 4 5 5 6 8 8 8
何塞 1 1 2 1 5 4 5 5 5
*可能会报告形成性分数,但不会用于确定最终成绩。
等级描述符,边界等效项
为了达到每个学生的标准水平总和,将学生在该主题组的所有四个标准中的最终成就水平相加。 在Synergy中,它采用标准水平总计的平均值来确定与之相当的字母等级,然后将得分相加,如下表所示。
鳞片 意思 边界 阿灵顿公立学校成绩与中学项目成绩说明的一致性
A 7.00-8.00 28-32 产生高质量,经常创新的作品。 传达对概念和上下文的全面,细致的理解。 始终展现出成熟的批判性和创造性思维。 在各种复杂的教室和现实世界中,经常以独立性和专业性来传递知识和技能。 展示了主题领域的显着增长。
B+ 6.00-6.99 24-27 产生高质量,偶尔创新的作品。 交流对概念和上下文的广泛理解。 经常表现出批判性和创造性思维。 在熟悉和不熟悉的教室以及现实世界中经常独立地使用知识和技能。 展示了主题领域的显着增长。
B 4.75-5.99 19-23 产生一般高质量的作品。 传达对概念和上下文的安全理解。 表现出批判性和创造性思维,有时表现得很成熟。 在熟悉的教室和现实环境中使用知识和技能,并在一些不熟悉的现实环境中使用支持。 展示了主题领域的显着增长。
C+ 4.00-4.74 16-18 产生高质量的作品。 传达对大多数概念和上下文的基本理解,几乎没有误解和较小的差距。 通常表现出基本的批判性和创造性思维。 在熟悉的教室情况下灵活运用知识和技能,但在不熟悉的情况下需要支持。 证明主题领域有所增长。
C 2.50-3.99 10-15 产生可接受质量的作品。 交流对许多概念和上下文的基本理解,偶尔会有重大的误解或空白。 开始展示一些基本的批判性和创造性思维。 在知识和技能的使用上通常不灵活,即使在熟悉的教室情况下也需要支持。 证明主题领域有所增长。
D+ 2.00-2.49 8-9 产生质量有限的作品。 对许多概念和上下文表达误解或理解上的重大空白。 很少展示批判性或创造性思维。 通常在使用知识和技能时不灵活,很少使用知识和技能。 展示了主题领域的边际增长。
D  1.50-1.99 6-7
E 0.00-1.49 1-5 产生质量非常有限的作品。 传达了许多重大误解或对大多数概念和上下文缺乏理解。 很少展示批判性或创造性思维。 非常缺乏弹性,很少使用知识和技能。 证明主题领域的成长不足。
更多资讯

Assessment Policy

Purpose of Assessment 
Assessment is instrumental to learning. It helps give students feedback on the learning process. Assessment helps inform, enhance and modify the teaching process. It supports development of the whole child. Great assessments promote a positive student attitude toward learning by utilizing creative and critical thinking.
Assessment Criteria 
As an IB school, every teacher must assess specific subject group criteria listed below using a variety of summative assessments at least twice during the year. These criteria represent the use of knowledge, understanding and skills which must be taught. They are summarized below and the complete MYP standards and strands year 1 (6th grade) to year 3 (8th grade) are posted here: IB MYP Assessment Objectives and Strands.
Subject Criterion A Criterion B Criterion C Criterion D
Arts  Knowing and Understanding Developing skills Thinking creatively Responding
Design                                       Inquiring and analysing Developing ideas Creating the solution Evaluating
Individuals and societies  Knowing and Understanding Investigating Communicating Thinking critically
Language acquisition  Listening Reading Speaking Writing
Language and literature  Analysing Organizing Producing text Using language
Mathematics Knowing and Understanding Investigating patterns Communicating Applying mathematics in real-life contexts
Physical and health education Knowing and Understanding Planning for Performance Applying and Performing Reflecting and improving performance
Sciences Knowing and Understanding Inquiring and Designing Processing and evaluating Reflecting on the impacts of science
Interdisciplinary Disciplinary Grounding Synthesizing Communicating Reflecting
Community Project Investigating Planning Taking Action Reflecting
Summative Assessment
Assessment of learning (it determines grades). These are performances or tasks directly linked to the statement of inquiry that demonstrate student understanding of IB subject criteria. They are based on the theory that understanding is not something we have—like a set of facts we possess—but rather is something we can do. The MYP uses the term “performance” in its widest sense to describe all forms of assessment. Types of summative assessments may include: Compositions, creation of solutions to problems or products, essays, examinations, questionnaires, investigations, research, performances and presentations. To ensure depth and complexity of a summative task teachers often use the GRASPS model (Goal, Role, Audience, Situation, Product, Standards). Using this model creates exciting, real-world assessments.
Formative Assessment
Assessment for learning (not for grading). This should be done before and during learning. Effective formative assessment can help personalize learning and provide opportunities for students to refine or rehearse performances for summative assessments. Peer and self-assessment are powerful tools for learning. These formative assessments, checks for understanding, should take place every class period. Examples of effective formative assessments include: 1-minute essay, Google forms, 1-sentence summary, exit tickets, hand signals, quick write, think-pair-share, peer interviews, analogy prompt or 1-word summary.
Differentiation
Modifying teaching strategies to meet diverse learning needs. Allow students to pursue appropriate and personal learning goals. Consider each student’s language profile. Apply these principles: 1) Affirming identity and building self-esteem, 2) Valuing prior-knowledge, 3) Scaffolding (supports), 4) Extending learning. Differentiate in terms of content, process and product. By content: What should students know?By process: What activities will help students make sense of the knowledge, skills and understanding? By product: What tasks will provide evidence of what the student knows, understands and is able to do?
Task-Specific Clarifications
MYP publishes assessment criteria in rubric form that is holistic, in that they offer general, qualitative value statements about student achievement. Furthermore, these rubrics area created with specific command terms that have the same definitions across subjects and grade levels, the command terms are posted here. Task-specific clarifications require teachers to redraft the value statements in a rubric in terms of specific assessments. It should be completed at the beginning of each unit.
Inappropriate Grading Practices
MYP is a challenge to traditional grading practices. Determining grades by giving a proportion to classwork, homework and tests is inappropriate. Determining grades by averaging all summative assessments in a criterion is inappropriate. Using a single piece of evidence to determine a final grade is inappropriate.
Determining Grades
MYP reports of student achievement should communicate the student’s achievement level for each assessment criteria. It allows students and parents to know how students are performing on each objective. Teachers analyze student summative scores paying attention to patterns in the data, including increasing performance, consistency and mitigating circumstances to determine the student’s final achievement level. In the two examples below, determining a final score by looking at patterns gives a better sense of what a student understands at the end of the grading period rather than simply averaging. Since formatives don’t count toward the final grade, students aren’t penalized for not scoring well while they are learning.
Student Formative* Homework Max 8 Formative* Quiz
Max 8
Formative* Exit-ticket Max 8 Criterion A
Unit Test
Max 8
Criterion A Project Max 8 Criterion A DBQ
Max 8
Criterion Slide-deck
Max 8
Criterion A Essay  Max 8 Final score Criterion A Max 8
Sophia 8 3 4 5 5 6 8 8 8
Jose 1 1 2 1 5 4 5 5 5
*Formative scores may be reported, but are not used in the determination of a final grade.
Grade Descriptors, Boundaries Equivalencies
To arrive at a criterion level total for each student, the student’s final achievement levels in all four criteria of the subject group are added together. In Synergy, it takes the mean of the criterion level totals that determines letter grades with equivalencies to adding the scores together as shown in the chart below.
Scale Mean Boundaries Alignment of Arlington Public School Grades with MYP Grade Descriptions
A 7.00-8.00 28-32 Produces high-quality, frequently innovative work. Communicates comprehensive, nuanced understanding of concepts and contexts. Consistently demonstrates sophisticated critical and creative thinking. Frequently transfers knowledge and skills with independence and expertise in a variety of complex classroom and real-world situations. Demonstrates significant growth in the subject area.
B+ 6.00-6.99 24-27 Produces high-quality, occasionally innovative work. Communicates extensive understanding of concepts and contexts. Demonstrates critical and creative thinking, frequently with sophistication. Uses knowledge and skills in familiar and unfamiliar classroom and real-world situations, often with independence. Demonstrates noticeable growth in the subject area.
B 4.75-5.99 19-23 Produces generally high-quality work. Communicates secure understanding of concepts and context. Demonstrates critical and creative thinking, sometimes with sophistication. Uses knowledge and skills in familiar classroom and real-world situations, and, with support, some unfamiliar real-world situations. Demonstrates noticeable growth in the subject area.
C+ 4.00-4.74 16-18 Produces good quality work. Communicates basic understanding of most concepts and contexts with few misunderstandings and minor gaps. Often demonstrates basic critical and creative thinking. Uses knowledge and skills with some flexibility in familiar classroom situations, but requires support in unfamiliar situations. Demonstrates some growth in the subject area.
C 2.50-3.99 10-15 Produces work of an acceptable quality. Communicates basic understanding of many concepts and context, with occasionally significant misunderstandings or gaps. Begins to demonstrate some basic critical and creative thinking. Is often inflexible in the use of knowledge and skills, requiring support even in familiar classrooms situations. Demonstrates some growth in the subject area.
D+ 2.00-2.49 8-9 Produce work of limited quality. Expresses misunderstandings or significant gaps in understanding for many concepts and context. Infrequently demonstrates critical or creative thinking. Generally inflexible in the use of knowledge and skills, infrequently applying knowledge and skills. Demonstrates marginal growth in the subject area.
D  1.50-1.99 6-7
E 0.00-1.49 1-5 Produces work of very limited quality. Conveys many significant misunderstandings or lacks understanding of most concepts and contexts. Rarely demonstrates critical or creative thinking. Very inflexible, rarely using knowledge and skills. Demonstrates inadequate growth in the subject area.
Additional Resources