纳入政策

政策目的
我们的包容政策的目的是向所有利益相关者传达创建包容性教育环境的期望。 托马斯·杰斐逊(Thomas Jefferson)的理念,原则,结构和实践旨在确保向所有学生(包括有特殊需要的学生)提供丰富而严格的IB指导,并提供他们在最小限制的环境中获得成功所需要的支持。
包容性定义和核心信念

我们在学校和教室级别确定学生,这些学生利用基于证据的全系统实践来快速响应学术和行为需求。 这些实践包括频繁的进度监控,使教育工作者能够为学生做出合理的,基于数据的教学决策。 根据数据驱动的对学生成绩和幸福感的查询,通过协作学习团队(CLT)和年级团队选择学生进行干预。

如果学生在进行广泛的干预和进度监控后仍然遇到困难,则工作人员可以将其转介给学生支持委员会。 学生支持委员会的目的是解决学校应采取的支持学生的下一步措施。 委员会成员包括父母,课堂老师,SPED教师,行政人员(LEA),学校心理学家,社会工作者,学校顾问和学生支持协调员。 在州和联邦法规以及APS特殊教育政策和程序的指导下,认真管理学生的身份是确定学生符合特殊教育服务资格的过程(25 4.4)。 仅在获得家长/监护人的许可后,才能进行确定的评估。不符合IEP资格的学生可以符合504计划的条件。 目的是让学生在常规教室中接受教育,以及他们可能需要的服务,住宿或教育援助。

权利和责任
教师将:

  • 根据学生的需求区分或个性化教学(此处提供其他策略)
  • 忠实阅读,理解和实施学生IEP,504和/或个性化计划
  • 参与专业发展机会,消除学习障碍
  • 衡量学生朝着个人目标的成长
  • 培养与学生的积极关系(TA,学生会议期间签到)。

学生应:

  • 积极参加学习活动
  • 自我倡导者并利用学习支持(周一办公时间,TA)
  • 了解他们的个人学习目标,并提供有关这些目标的反馈(共同创造,可实现性)。

父母/监护人应:

  • 积极参与学生在学习目标方面的进步
  • 阅读并了解学生的IEP,504和/或个性化计划
  • 与学校工作人员合作,为学生营造良好的学习环境。
纳入模型
杰斐逊(Jefferson)为残障学生提供连续的服务和安置。 社署在最大程度上并根据最低限度环境(LRE)的要求,对他们的非残障同伴进行了教育。 托马斯·杰斐逊中学为有特殊需求的学生提供全方位的服务和设置:共同授课的内容教室,独立的教室,语音语言服务,职业治疗,物理治疗,咨询服务,听力服务,视力服务。
完整的包含政策
包容性政策 - 2021 年 XNUMX 月更新

Inclusion Policy

Purpose of the Policy
The purpose of our inclusion policy is to communicate to all our stakeholders the expectations for creating an inclusive educational environment. The philosophy, principles and structures and practices at Thomas Jefferson are designed to ensure that all students, including students with special needs, are provided with rich and rigorous IB instruction, with the supports they need to be successful in the least restrictive environment.
Inclusion Defined and Core Beliefs

We identify students at the school and classroom level that utilizes evidence-based, system-wide practices to provide a quick response to academic and behavioral needs. These practices include frequent progress monitoring that enable educators to make sound, data-based instructional decisions for students. Students are selected for interventions through collaborative learning teams (CLTs) and grade level teams based on data driven inquiries into student achievement and well-being.

If a student continues to have difficulty following extensive intervention and progress monitoring, staff may make a referral to the student support committee. The purpose of the student support committee is to problem solve next steps that the school should take to support the student. Committee members consist of parents, classroom teachers, SPED teachers, administrators (LEA), school psychologist, social worker, school counselor and the student support coordinator. Identifying a student as eligible for special education services is a carefully managed process guided by State and Federal regulations, as well as APS Special Education policies and procedures (25 4.4). Evaluations required to make this determination are completed only with parent/guardian permission.Students who don’t qualify for an IEP may qualify for a 504 plan. The goal is for students to be educated in regular classrooms along with the services, accommodations, or educational aids they might need.

Rights and Responsibilities
Teachers will:

  • Differentiate or personalize instruction based on student need (additional strategies here)
  • Read, understand and implement student IEPs, 504 and/or individualized plans with fidelity
  • Participate in professional development opportunities to remove barriers to learning
  • Measure student growth toward individual goals
  • Foster positive relationships with students (check ins during TA, student-conference).

Students should:

  • Actively participate in learning activities
  • Self-advocate and take advantage of learning supports (Monday office hours, TAs)
  • Understand their individual learning goals and give feedback about these goals (co-creation, achievability).

Parents/Guardians should:

  • Actively participate in their student’s progress on their learning goals
  • Read and understand student IEPs, 504 and/or individualized plans
  • Collaborate with school staff to foster a positive learning environment for students.
Inclusion Model
Jefferson offers a continuum of services and placements for students with disabilities. To the greatest extent possible and in accordance with the requirements for Least Restrictive Environment (LRE), SWD are educated with their non-disabled peers. The full range of services and settings offered for students with special needs at Thomas Jefferson Middle: Co-taught content classrooms, self-contained classrooms, speech language services, occupational therapy, physical therapy, counseling services, hearing services, vision services.
Complete Inclusion Policy
Inclusion Policy – Updated February 2021