杰斐逊花园

杰斐逊花园春季 2021你可知道? 杰斐逊花园是阿灵顿最大的学校花园,已向阿灵顿食品储藏室捐赠了数千磅的新鲜农产品,以帮助缓解我们当地社区的粮食不安全状况——仅 550 年就有 2021 磅的食品。


杰斐逊花园是托马斯杰斐逊中学的户外课堂教学花园,也是我们阿灵顿社区的“城市农场”。 它也被称为托马斯杰斐逊中学社区花园,通过有机、自然和可持续的园艺实践创造动手学习体验,以及向粮食不安全的人捐赠新鲜农产品,使我们学校社区的多元化学生和家庭受益邻居。 该花园由 TJMS PTA 和外部赠款资助,由家长和教师志愿者组成。

如有查询,请联系:

最后更新时间:30 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日


服务传统

杰斐逊花园由 Cadette Troop 2010 于 557 年作为女童子军银奖项目成立,部分产品将捐赠给阿灵顿食品援助中心 (AFAC),以支持其“反饥饿计划”计划(然后由 AFAC 运营) )。

今天,该花园通过反饥饿计划继续向阿灵顿食品储藏室捐款,以纪念其女童子军创始人的遗产,该计划现在由 阿灵顿都市农业之友,其使命是建立一个有弹性、由社区驱动的都市农业部门,为所有阿灵顿人提供公平、健康、可持续的食品系统。


对学校及其社区的好处

以下是我们的花园为 TJMS 学生团体、家庭和周边当地社区带来价值的多种方式:

  • 该花园已被纳入 TJMS 国际文凭 (IB) 学术课程,促使学生探索食物如何影响他们的生活、社区和环境。 TJMS 教师将花园用作户外教室和动手实践 学习空间 对于学生,他们在那里调查本地传粉媒介、灌溉系统和堆肥等主题,并探索有关数学、科学、地理、艺术、英语等的课程。 
  • TJMS 学生可以获得社区服务时间以支持 IB 计划项目并在花园工作时学习园艺技能。
  • 杰斐逊花园向阿灵顿食品储藏室捐赠新鲜农产品,迄今为止已捐赠了数千磅新鲜蔬菜和水果。
  • 欢迎 TJMS 学生、家庭和邻居加入花园俱乐部,在放学后和生长季节的周末帮助、学习和享受花园,这有助于维护花园,同时也加强我们的社区。

如何参与

了解更多并成为志愿者 – 此网页提供杰斐逊花园的一般介绍,但可供家庭了解更多有关花园最新动态的信息; 报名参加花园的志愿者工作时间; 并订阅 TJMS 社区花园新闻和更新电子邮件通讯, 访问 jeffersongarden.org 上的杰斐逊花园专用网站.

在社交媒体上关注杰斐逊花园 – 获取定期更新,并在此处查看花园中美丽场景的照片和视频:


花园历史

以下是与我们花园的创建和历史相关的注释和链接,我们将其作为档案保存在此页面上。

杰斐逊花园趣闻

  • 托马斯杰斐逊中学花园是该地区的特色花园 史密森尼花园的花园社区 数字档案旨在帮助人们更好地了解花园对美国生活的意义和价值
  • 杰斐逊花园于 2010 年作为女童子军银奖项目创建,其灵感来自于 可食用校园项目 总部位于加利福尼亚州伯克利,以及 白宫厨房花园,最初由第一夫人米歇尔奥巴马于 2009 年种植在南草坪上

新闻中的杰斐逊花园

  • 内幕NOVA,11 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日——Eagle Scout 项目为杰斐逊花园带来了可达性
  • 内幕NOVA13 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日——阿灵顿开始对二战胜利花园进行现代化改造
  • 现在的阿灵顿12 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日 – 学校“胜利花园”用于为当地食品储藏室种植食物
  • 内幕NOVA,9 年 2014 月 557 日 - 花园的“创始农民”阿灵顿女童子军 XNUMX 致编辑的信,以在花园处于危险之中时拯救它
  • 华盛顿邮报/儿童邮报,2 年 2014 月 XNUMX 日——TJ 青年园丁渴望帮助为有需要的人筹集和准备食物
  • 阿灵顿杂志, 2014 年 XNUMX 月至 XNUMX 月 – 花园如何产生重大影响
  • 杰斐逊邮报, 2014 年 XNUMX 月 – TJMS 学生记者关于户外教室的话题
  • APS Green Scene,14 年 2013 月 XNUMX 日——报告学生、家庭、教职员工和社区成员如何创建花园的主设计(链接不再可用)
  • 阿灵顿连接,6 年 12 月 2013 日至 XNUMX 日 - 花园如何建立健康的连接(链接不再可用)

杰斐逊花园设计史

2014 年,景观设计师和前任教师 Nancy Striniste,创始人兼首席设计师 早期空间,设计了一个美丽而充满活力的计划,灵感来自 TJMS 学生、教职员工和社区的投入。 这个 TJMS 社区花园的长远愿景包括户外教室、野餐桌、烤箱、国际花园、圆形剧场、果树、池塘、雨水收集/交换系统、无障碍高架床、土机、高隧道、迷人入口——所有关于加强学生学习和活动、延长生长季节和在花园中培养社区的想法。

多年来,杰斐逊的家长、老师和学生一起投入了许多志愿服务时间来整合计划的元素以及其他改进,以帮助将花园发展成为一个为我们整个社区带来价值的地方。

The Jefferson Garden

jefferson-garden-spring-2021Did you know? The Jefferson Garden is the largest school garden in Arlington and has donated thousands of pounds of fresh produce to Arlington food pantries to help alleviate food insecurity in our local community – including 550 pounds of food in 2021 alone.


The Jefferson Garden is an outdoor classroom instruction garden for Thomas Jefferson Middle School that also serves as an “urban farm” for our Arlington community. Also known as the Thomas Jefferson Middle School Community Garden, it benefits a diverse group of students and families in our school community by creating hands-on learning experiences with organic, natural and sustainable gardening practices, as well as donating fresh produce to food-insecure neighbors. The garden is funded by both the TJMS PTA and outside grants, and it is staffed by both parent and teacher volunteers.

For inquiries, contact:

Last updated Nov. 30, 2021


A Tradition of Service

The Jefferson Garden was founded in 2010 as a Girl Scout Silver Award project by Cadette Troop 557, with a portion of the produce going to the Arlington Food Assistance Center (AFAC) in support of its “Plot Against Hunger” program (then run by AFAC).

Today, the garden honors the legacy of its Girl Scout founders by continuing to make donations to Arlington food pantries through the Plot Against Hunger program, now run by the Arlington Friends of Urban Agriculture, whose mission is to build a resilient, community-driven urban agriculture sector that provides a fair, healthy, sustainable food system for all Arlingtonians.


Benefits to the School and Its Community

The following are the many ways our garden brings value to the TJMS student body, families and surrounding local community:

  • The garden has been integrated into the TJMS International Baccalaureate (IB) academic curriculum, prompting students to explore how food impacts their lives, community and environment. TJMS teachers use the garden as an outdoor classroom and hands-on learning space for students, where they investigate topics like native pollinators, irrigation systems and composting, and explore lessons around math, science, geography, art, English and more. 
  • TJMS students can earn community service hours in support of IB Programme projects and learn gardening skills when working in the garden.
  • The Jefferson Garden makes fresh produce donations to Arlington food pantries, with thousands of pounds of fresh vegetables and fruit donated to date.
  • TJMS students, families and neighbors are welcome to join the Garden Club to help out, learn and enjoy the garden after school and on the weekends during the growing season, which helps maintain the garden while also strengthening our community.

How to Get Involved

Learn More and Volunteer – This webpage offers a general introduction to the Jefferson Garden, but for families to learn even more about the latest happenings at the garden; to sign up for volunteer work hours in the garden; and to subscribe to the TJMS Community Garden News & Updates email newsletter, visit the dedicated Jefferson Garden website at jeffersongarden.org.

Follow the Jefferson Garden on Social Media – Get regular updates and see photos and videos of beautiful scenes from the garden here:


Garden History

Below are additional links and notes related to our garden’s founding and history, which we’re keeping on this page as an archive.

Jefferson Garden Fun Facts

  • The Thomas Jefferson Middle School Garden is a featured garden in the Smithsonian Gardens’ Community of Gardens digital archive created to help people better understand the meaning and value of gardens to American life
  • Created in 2010 as a Girl Scout Silver Award project, the Jefferson Garden was inspired by the Edible Schoolyard Project based in Berkeley, CA, as well as by the White House Kitchen Garden, originally planted on the South Lawn by First Lady Michelle Obama in 2009

Jefferson Garden in the News

  • InsideNOVA, Oct. 11, 2020 – Eagle Scout project brings accessibility to the Jefferson Garden
  • InsideNOVA, Aug. 13, 2020 – Arlington embarks on modern take on WWII victory gardens
  • Arlington Now, Aug. 12, 2020 – School ‘Victory Gardens’ Used To Grow Food For Local Pantries
  • InsideNOVA, Dec. 9, 2014 – Letter to the editor from the garden’s “founding farmers,” Arlington Girl Scout Troop 557, to save the garden at a time when it was at risk
  • The Washington Post/Kid’s Post, Nov. 2, 2014 – TJ youth gardeners hungry to help raise and prepare food for the needy
  • Arlington Magazine, Sept-Oct 2014 – How the garden has a big impact
  • The Jefferson Post, April 2014 – TJMS student journalists on the topic of outdoor classrooms
  • APS Green Scene, June 14, 2013 – Report on how students, families, faculty, staff and community members create the garden’s master design (link no longer available)
  • The Arlington Connection, Feb. 6-12, 2013 – How the garden grows healthy connections (link no longer available)

Jefferson Garden Design History

In 2014, landscape designer and former teacher Nancy Striniste, founder and principal designer at Earlyspace, designed a beautiful and vibrant plan inspired from input by TJMS students, faculty, staff and community. This big-picture, long-term vision for a TJMS community garden featured outdoor classrooms, picnic tables, oven, international gardens, amphitheater, fruit trees, pond, rainwater harvesting/exchange systems, accessible raised beds, earth loom, high tunnel, enchanting entrances – all ideas for enhancing student learning and activity, extending the growing season and fostering community in the garden.