问题跟踪器

问题跟踪器

问题/关注 添加日期 附加信息 订单状态
与家长的事件沟通 9/29/2022 学校缺乏与家长和家庭的沟通; 如果受 APS 限制,请让 APS 知道 TJ 家庭担心缺乏透明度。 “保护建筑物”提示家长进行中的通知的时间长度是多少? 10 年 27 月 2022 日:这是 PTA 的最高优先级问题。 PTA 打算与 APS 联系,请求指导/指导与家长沟通的政策,然后让 TJMS 参与学校政策。
TA 时间利用和前进之路 10/27/2022 目前尚不清楚学生是否有效地利用了助教时间。 是否对孩子们在做什么或老师如何利用时间进行了评估? 这仍然是飞行员还是被认为是无限期的? 是否可以选择将其移至一天中的不同时间,类似于之前的“黄夹克时间”? 11/4/2022:TA 时间表不是试点。 APS 中的所有中学都已经或将与相同的时间表保持一致(即在一天开始时与 TA 保持一致)。 所有 TA 教师都应根据当天提供内容(例如社交情感学习、社区项目、思维技能等)。 大量学生在周二/周四/周五参加 TA Flex 课程。
学校的背包 9/29/2022 学生必须把背包放在储物柜里,随身携带 iPad 和其他任何他们需要的东西; 许多孩子选择不携带水瓶 10 年 4 月 2022 日:背着书包的学生是大流行的产物。 这是一个安全问题,因为教室很小(导致拥挤和绊倒的危险),并且为了更容易识别任何社区中心的顾客进入学校(通常携带背包)。
工作人员认识到学生习惯于携带 iPad 和水瓶等全天候物品,并且愿意为学生、家长和工作人员寻找公平的解决方案。下一步:PTA 要求一位家长志愿者主持一个特别委员会来解决这个问题。 如果有兴趣,请发邮件 tjmspta@gmail.com
跨性别设施(例如 PE) 9/29/2022 非二元孩子可以改变的壁橱在男孩的走廊里,并不为人所知; 体育教师应该向所有学生说明选项,而无需学生询问

10 年 4 月 2022 日:这是一个需要 APS 参与的设施问题。

下一步:PTA 要求家长志愿者主持一个特别委员会,与 APS 设施助理主管 Renee Harber 会面。 如果有兴趣,请发邮件 tjmspta@gmail.com

户外学校午餐 9/29/2022 学生不出去吃午饭,只有在午饭结束后; 员工缺勤和对垃圾的关注

10 年 4 月 2022 日:这是设施和资源问题。 与其他学校不同,TJMS 食堂没有通向外面的门。 让孩子们在外面吃饭需要大量的工作人员支持来识别/聚集这些学生,等待一些学生通过午餐线,然后护送他们走出自助餐厅并穿过大厅到外面。

10 年 27 月 2022 日:家长们询问这是否可以与那些分开的安静午餐相结合,这取决于他们安静区域的距离。 PTA 会询问。

11 年 4 月 2022 日:陪同去安静吃午餐的孩子不要靠近外门。

下一步:PTA 要求一位家长志愿者主持一个特别委员会来解决这个问题。 如果有兴趣,请发邮件 tjmspta@gmail.com

报告 COVID 病例数 9/29/2022 COVID 病例的流行有助于家庭做出让孩子戴口罩的明智决定 10 年 4 月 2022 日:APS 已停止跟踪 COVID-19 感染,无论是否报告,因为阿灵顿被认为是低风险的。 有关阳性病例的任何信息均由受影响的个人/家庭自行决定。
下一步:PTA 要求一位家长志愿者主持一个特别委员会来解决这个问题。 如果有兴趣,请发邮件 tjmspta@gmail.com
教室缺乏自然光 9/29/2022 荧光灯让一些人头疼 10/4/2022:所有没有外窗的房间都有天窗以引入自然光; 但是,有时需要补充照明。 使用的灯具有 3500K 中性光,旨在减少负面影响。
下一步:PTA 需要了解有多少学生和/或员工受到当前照明的影响。 如果相对较小,则可以通过为这些人提供住宿来解决该问题。 如果更多,则可以使用 APS 解决该问题。 请电邮 tjmspta@gmail.com 如果您或您的家人遇到被认为是教室中荧光灯造成的问题。

已关闭的问题

有关紧急事件的人员准备/培训 10/27/2022 信息请求:除了正常的锁定演习之外,是否有一个流程可以结合从现实世界事件中吸取的经验教训来改进员工的反应? 教师们接受了哪些关于锁定演习或其他应急准备的培训? 11 年 4 月 2022 日:每位工作人员都必须接受有关演习期间行动等方面的强制性年度培训。在实际事件发生后,APS 会吸取教训,例如去年年底的封锁导致 APS 调整程序以更快地获取信息(TJMS 被通知但舰队不是)。
问题 关闭
年初身体打架/争吵 9/29/2022 两次集会与学生讨论这些事件,但没有学校谈话消息或通知发送给家长 10 年 4 月 2022 日:每个学年都会举行所引用的大会,以普遍讨论学生对安全的期望。 这些事件被认为并不重要,但它们确实提供了一个讨论点。
问题已关闭 对于此特定事件,但有关沟通的更大问题仍在“与父母的事件沟通”下。

Issue Tracker

Issue Tracker

Issue / Concern Date Added Additional Information Status
Incident Communication to Parents 9/29/2022 Lack of communication by the school to parents and families; if limited by APS, let APS know that TJ families are concerned about the lack of transparency. What is the length of time for “secure the building” to prompt in-progress notification to parents? 10/27/2022: This is the PTA’s highest priority issue. PTA intends to reach out to APS to request policies that direct/guide communication to parents, and then engage TJMS for school policies.
TA Time Utilization and Way Ahead 10/27/2022 It is unclear whether TA time is being used productively by students. Has there been an assessment of what kids are doing or how teachers are using the time? Is this still a pilot or considered indefinite? Is there an option to move it to a different time of the day, similar to the previous “Yellow Jacket Time?” 11/4/2022: The TA schedule is not a pilot. All middle schools in APS have or will be aligning to the same schedule (i.e. with TA at beginning of day). All TA teachers should be providing content based on the day (e.g. social-emotional learning, community projects, thinking skills, etc.). A significant number of students go to a TA Flex program on Tue/Thu/Fri.
Backpacks in school 9/29/2022 Students must leave their backpack in their locker and carry iPad and anything else they need; many kids opt to not carry water bottles 10/4/2022: Students carrying backpacks was an artifact of the pandemic. It is a safety issue due to small classroom sizes (causes crowding and tripping hazard) and for easier identification of any Community Center patrons wander into the school (usually carrying backpacks).
Staff recognize students got used to carrying all-day items, such as iPads and water bottles, and are open to finding an equitable solution for students, parents, and staff.NEXT STEPS: PTA requests a parent volunteer to chair a special committee to address this issue. If interested, please email tjmspta@gmail.com
Transgender facilities (e.g. PE) 9/29/2022 Closet where non-binary kids can change is in the boys’ hallway, and not well known; PE teachers should state options to all of the students without students having to ask

10/4/2022: This is a facilities issue that requires APS involvement.

NEXT STEPS: PTA requests a parent volunteer to chair a special committee to meet with the APS Assistant Superintendent for Facilities, Renee Harber. If interested, please email tjmspta@gmail.com

Outdoor school lunch 9/29/2022 Students not going outside to eat lunch, only after lunch is over; staff unavailability and concern about trash

10/4/2022: This is a facility and resources issue. Unlike other schools, TJMS cafeteria does not have a door leading outside. Allowing kids to eat outside requires significant staff support to identify/gather those students, waiting while some go through the lunch line, and then escorting them out of the cafeteria and through the halls to the outside.

10/27/2022: Parents asked if this can be combined with those separated for quiet lunch, depending on how far away their quiet area is. PTA will inquire.

11/4/2022: The kids escorted to quiet lunch do not go near an exterior door.

NEXT STEPS: PTA requests a parent volunteer to chair a special committee to address this issue. If interested, please email tjmspta@gmail.com

Reporting number of COVID cases 9/29/2022 Prevalence of COVID cases helps families make an informed decision about having their kids wear masks 10/4/2022: APS has ceased tracking of COVID-19 infections, whether reported or not, since Arlington is considered low risk. Any information about positive cases is at the discretion of the individual/family affected.
NEXT STEPS: PTA requests a parent volunteer to chair a special committee to address this issue. If interested, please email tjmspta@gmail.com
Lack of natural light in classrooms 9/29/2022 Fluorescent light causing headaches for some 10/4/2022: All rooms without exterior windows have skylights to bring in natural light; however, supplementary lighting is sometimes required. The lights used have 3500K neutral light, intended to reduce negative effects.
NEXT STEPS: PTA needs to understand how many students and/or staff are affected by the current lighting. If relatively small, the issue could be addressed via accommodations for those individuals. If more, then the issue can be addressed with APS. Please email tjmspta@gmail.com if you or a family member are having issues thought to be the result of fluorescent light in the classroom.

CLOSED ISSUES

Staff preparation / training regarding emergency incidents 10/27/2022 INFO REQUEST: Besides normal lockdown drills, is there a process to incorporate lessons learned from real-world incidents to refine staff response? What training do the teachers receive for lockdown drills or other emergency preparation? 11/4/2022: Every staff member has mandatory annual training regarding actions during drills, etc. Following an actual event, APS conducts lessons learned, e.g. the lockdown late last year resulted in APS adjusting procedures to get info out quicker (TJMS was notified but Fleet was not).
ISSUE CLOSED
Beginning of year physical fights/altercations 9/29/2022 Two assemblies to talk to students about the incidents, but there were no school talk messages or notifications sent to parents about it 10/4/2022: The referenced assemblies are held every school year to generally discuss expectations of students in relation to safety. The incidents were not considered significant, but they did provide a point of discussion.
ISSUE CLOSED for this particular incident, but the bigger issue regarding communication continues under “Incident Communication to Parents.”