تحيات من المدير بوغان وتحديث هام عن النقل!

تحياتي طلاب مدرسة جيفرسون الإعدادية والأسر

(في الإسبانية(الأمهرية)  (عربى)  (بنغالي)  (المنغولية)

من الصعب تصديق أننا على بعد أسبوعين فقط من فتح الأبواب لمدرسة جيفرسون الإعدادية للعام الدراسي 2019-20 - بدءًا من التوجيه يوم الخميس ، 29 أغسطس 2019 واليوم الأول من المدرسة يوم الثلاثاء 3 سبتمبر 2019. نتطلع إلى الترحيب بجيراننا الأصغر سنًا في مدرسة أليس ويست فليت الابتدائية أثناء انتقالهم إلى المبنى الجديد ، وإلى رؤية مدرسينا وموظفينا في جيفرسون عند عودتهم ، خلال أسبوع 19 أغسطس 2019. التواريخ ، نظل مشغولين خلف الكواليس وفي المجتمع ، نعمل على جميع الجبهات لضمان انتقال سلس. يسعدني أن أعلن عن إعادة فتح مدخل الباب الأمامي الرئيسي لـ TJMS بالإضافة إلى مداخل مستوى الصف الفردي! ستنزل الحافلات المدرسية وتلتقي في ممر الحافلات الجديد بالقرب من المدخل الرئيسي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يوجد ممر جديد للوالدين / الأوصياء على خدمة التوصيل والتوصيل بجوار مدرسة أليس ويست فليت الابتدائية على طريق S. Old Glebe. سيستخدم الطلاب الممرات من الحافلات وتوصيل أولياء الأمور والتوصيل للوصول إلى مداخل مستوى الصف. يمكن لراكبي الدراجات استخدام رفوف الدراجات الموجودة بالقرب من المدخل الأمامي الرئيسي لتأمين الدراجات. عند الوصول ، سيدخل الطلاب مبنى المدرسة وفقًا لصفتهم:

  • الصف السادس - الباب 6
  • الصف السادس - الباب 7
  • الصف السادس - الباب 8

عند الفصل ، سيخرج الطلاب من خلال أبواب الصف المناسبة لهم. لمساعدة العائلات على الاستعداد لليوم الأول ، كنا نعمل مع مكاتب النقل في المدارس العامة في أرلينغتون وإدارة النقل في مقاطعة أرلينغتون للتطوير إجراءات وصول طالب المدرسة الإعدادية توماس جيفرسون وفصله لعام 2019-20. نحن نشجعك على مراجعة هذا المستند الشامل والموارد الأخرى عبر الإنترنت في أقرب وقت يناسبك. أشكر لنا رابطة الآباء والمعلمين (PTA) ومجتمع Jefferson بأكمله لدعمك. نتطلع إلى العمل مع الطلاب والأسر والموظفين في الأسابيع المتبقية من الصيف لضمان بداية ناجحة للعام الدراسي 2019-20.

المدير كيشا بوغان                                                                                                           

keisha.boggan@apsva.us

مدرسة جيفرسون المتوسطة تحديث النقل 2019-20

يبدأ اليوم الأول من المدرسة في اللحظة التي يغادر فيها الطلاب المنزل ، لذلك سواء كان الطلاب يستقلون الحافلة أو يمشون أو يركبون الدراجات ، فمن المهم أن تخطط العائلات وتختبر التنقلات في وقت مبكر. لدعم تخطيط تنقلاتك ، يتضمن تحديث النقل 2019-20 هذا أبرز النقاط من وثيقة إجراءات وصول الطالب وفصله وغيرها من المعلومات التي تحتاج إلى المعرفة حول النقل من وإلى مدرسة Jefferson Middle School ، والموارد المحددة حسب وضع النقل ، وأدوات ونصائح سلامة النقل للجميع:

اتوبيس                 

جميع الطلاب المقيمين في منطقة أهلية حافلات جيفرسون (انظر الجزء الأسمر من خريطة منطقة أهلية الحافلات) سيتم تخصيص النقل بالحافلة المدرسية ويتم تشجيعهم على ركوب الحافلة المدرسية.

  • سيتم إرسال مهام الحافلات المدرسية لعام 2019-20 بالبريد إلى العائلات بحلول يوم الخميس الموافق 22 أغسطس. وستكون المهام متاحة أيضًا في ParentVue.
  • تم تعيين طلاب جيفرسون الذين انتقلوا من مدارسهم المجاورة في منازلهم إلى مواقع "توقف مركزية" أو محطات حافلات قريبة داخل حدود جيفرسون. سيتم تعيين الطلاب إلى المحطة الأقرب إلى منازلهم. يتوفر مزيد من المعلومات حول محطات التوقف
  • تم نشر معلومات عامة عن APS School Bus Transportation لعام 2019-20
  • سيتم إنزال حافلات جيفرسون المدرسية والتشغيل والاستلام في حلقة الحافلة الواقعة في الركن الشمالي الغربي من الحرم الجامعي ، أمام ساحة الدخول الرئيسية. انظر الخريطة أ في الصفحة 4 من إجراءات وصول الطلاب وفصلهم
  • لمزيد من التفاصيل ، راجع اتوبيس قسم (الصفحة 2) من جيفرسون إجراءات وصول الطلاب وفصلهم.

المشي / ركوب الدراجات

الطلاب المقيمين في المناطق المحيطة بجيفرسون غير المخصصة لخدمة الحافلات (انظر الجزء الوردي من خريطة منطقة أهلية الحافلات) يتم تشجيعهم على المشي أو ركوب الدراجة. فيما يلي بعض الموارد لمساعدتك في التخطيط:

 مركبات العائلة 

تشجع APS العائلات على استكشاف جميع الخيارات الممكنة للسفر من وإلى المدرسة والاستفادة من وسائل النقل الصحية الخضراء قدر الإمكان. إذا كان عليك القيادة ، فيرجى العلم بما يلي:

  • سيتم اصطفاف المركبات العائلية والدوران على طول طريق South Old Glebe Road. انظر الخريطة ب في الصفحة 5 من جيفرسون إجراءات وصول الطلاب وفصلهم
  • يجب أن يتم إنزال الطلاب واستلامهم بالمركبة العائلية فقط على طول الرصيف وفي منطقة الإنزال والتقاط المحددة. لا يُسمح للطلاب بالخروج من السيارة على الطريق.
  • ستساعد العائلات في تجنب / تقليل ازدحام المركبات أثناء الوصول والطرد من خلال استخدام السيارات المشتركة حيثما أمكن ذلك و / أو تحديد الهوية rمواقع الإنزال والتقاط المشاعر بالقرب من المدرسة (كما فعلت العديد من العائلات خلال فترة البناء 2017-19).
  • مواقف الزوار: سواء كنت قادمًا إلى المبنى للتوقف السريع (لاصطحاب الطالب أو تسليم شيء ما) أو لحضور اجتماع أو حدث مدرسي ، يرجى استخدام خيارات وقوف السيارات التالية. اركن سيارتك بمحاذاة الشارع الثاني أو بالجوار قبل الساعة 2:9 صباحًا وعلى طريق S. Old Glebe Road بين الساعة 00:9 صباحًا والساعة 00:2 مساءً الزوار مدعوون لوقوف السيارات في المرآب بعد الساعة 00:4 مساءً إذا كانت هناك أماكن متوفرة. تتوفر أماكن وقوف السيارات المتوافقة مع ADA على جانب المسرح في مدرسة Thomas Jefferson Middle School. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تتوفر أيضًا مواقف عامة للسيارات في المنطقة المجاورة لملاعب التنس.
  • تم تحديد المبادئ التوجيهية الهامة في تسليم المركبة الخاصة واستلامها القسم (الصفحات 2-3) من جيفرسون إجراءات وصول الطلاب وفصلهم

دعم النقل والسلامة

لمساعدة مسافرينا وعائلاتهم الطلابية ، سيحصل جيفرسون على دعم من:

  • حرس المعبر التابع لقسم شرطة مقاطعة أرلينغتون العائد لدينا ، والذي سيتمركز عند تقاطع طريق South Old Glebe Road و South 2nd Street عند الوصول ووقت الفصل كل يوم.
  • منسق النقل المدرسي لدينا جيريمي سيجل ، الذي يمكن الوصول إليه على 703-228-5904.

دعم تطبيق القانون

تعمل APS مع شرطة مقاطعة أرلينغتون لتوقع ودعم احتياجات سلامة النقل من خلال:

  • وضع علامات رسائل متغيرة في مواقع متعددة على مستوى المقاطعة مع رسائل لتنبيه السائقين بافتتاح المدرسة (بدءًا من أغسطس ، بعد معرض مقاطعة أرلينغتون)
  • بذل جهود الإنفاذ قبل افتتاح المدرسة (بدءًا من أغسطس)
  • تمركز الضباط في التقاطعات الرئيسية خلال الأسبوع الأول من المدرسة

نصائح سلامة النقل

عند السفر من وإلى المدرسة وبالقرب منها ، تذكر ما يلي:

  • ابق متيقظًا وانتبه لما يحيط بك سواء القيادة أو المشي أو ركوب الدراجات
  • افصله عن أجهزتك المحمولة وقم بإزالة سماعات الأذن
  • عبور عند ممرات المشاة المحددة
  • التقيد بجميع الإشارات التنظيمية وإشارات المرور

زر ال وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية طرق آمنة لمدرسة صفحة ويب للحصول على قائمة كاملة بـ اقتراحات السلامة وموارد النقل النشطة لجميع الأوضاع.

ترقب وصول مواد السلامة المدرسية والطرق الآمنة الإضافية إلى APS عبر Peachjar بعد فتح المدرسة. 

موارد وأدوات سلامة النقل

السلامة هي الاولوية رقم واحد. الموارد التالية متوفرة ، ونحن نشجعك على استخدامها:

الموارد عبر الإنترنت (منشورة على جيفرسون موقع الويب كما هو متاح) 

الأدوات واللوازم

  • سترات عاكسة للموظفين / الآباء المتطوعين
  • أدلة الجيب ShareVaRoads للعائلات / الموظفين في الانجليزية و إسباني

الإعداد المسبق

تلتزم APS بالعمل مع أسر جيفرسون والموظفين والمجتمع لجعل انتقالنا إلى العام الدراسي 2019-20 سلسًا قدر الإمكان ، ودعم افتتاح مدرسة Alice West Fleet الابتدائية ، وضمان وصول جميع طلابنا إلى المدرسة بأمان و في الوقت المحدد.

لقد عملنا بشكل وثيق مع مديري مدارس الأسطول الابتدائية والموظفين والعائلات لتبسيط إجراءات الوصول والفصل وتسهيل استخدام موارد النقل المشتركة والمساحة. لأغراض التخطيط ، يرجى ملاحظة جدول يوم الأسطول المدرسي:

  • يوم دراسي عادي:  شنومكس: شنومكس آم - شنومكس: شنومك بيإم
  • الإفراج المبكر:  1: 26 PM
  • تأخير لمدة ساعتين:  11: 00 AM
  • برنامج اليوم الممتد:
    • 7:00 صباحًا - 8:45 صباحًا
    • مساءً 3:41 مساءً - 6:00 مساءً
  • نوادي / الإثراء بعد المدرسة: 3: 45 PM - 4: 45 PM

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالسلامة ، فلدينا جميعًا دور نلعبه ، ولا يمكننا التأكيد بشكل كافٍ على أهمية الاستعداد المسبق. أنت تعرف ما هو الأفضل لك ولطلابك ، لذلك نشجعك على الاستفادة من موارد وفرص النقل هذه في الأسابيع المقبلة لتخطيط تنقلات الطالب إلى المدرسة ، سواء سيرًا على الأقدام أو بالدراجة أو بالحافلة المدرسية.

Greetings from Principal Boggan and an Important Transportation Update!

Greetings Jefferson Middle School Students and Families

(En español(Amharic)  (Arabic)  (Bengali)  (Mongolian)

It’s hard to believe that we are just two weeks from opening the doors to Jefferson Middle School for the 2019-20 school year—starting with Orientation on Thursday, August 29, 2019 and the first day of school on Tuesday, September 3, 2019. We’re looking forward to welcoming our younger neighbors at Alice West Fleet Elementary School as they move into their new building, and to seeing our own Jefferson teachers and staff when they return, during the week of August 19, 2019. Leading up to these dates, we remain busy behind the scenes and in the community, working on all fronts to ensure a smooth transition.  I am happy to announce the reopening of TJMS’ main front door entrance as well as our individual grade level entrances!  School busses will drop-off and pick-up in our new bus lane near our main entrance. In addition, there is a new parent/guardian drop-off and pick-up lane adjacent to Alice West Fleet Elementary School on S. Old Glebe Road.  Students will use the walkways from bus and parent drop-off and pick-up to access their grade level entrances. Bike riders can use bike racks located near the main front entrance to secure bikes. At arrival, students will enter the school building according to their grade:

  • 6th Grade – Door 17
  • 7th Grade – Door 16
  • 8th Grade – Door 15

At dismissal, students will exit through their appropriate grade level doors. To help families prepare for day 1, we’ve been working with Arlington Public Schools Transportation offices and Arlington County Department of Transportation to develop Thomas Jefferson Middle School Student Arrival and Dismissal Procedures for 2019-20. We encourage you to review this comprehensive document and other resources online at your earliest convenience. I thank our Parent-Teacher Association (PTA) and the entire Jefferson community for your support. We look forward to working together with students, families and staff in the remaining weeks of the summer to ensure a successful start to the 2019-20 school year.

Principal Keisha Boggan                                                                                                           

keisha.boggan@apsva.us

JEFFERSON MIDDLE SCHOOL 2019-20 TRANSPORTATION UPDATE

The first day of school begins the minute students leave home, so whether students are taking the bus, walking or biking, it’s important for families to plan and test commutes ahead of time. To support your commute planning, this 2019-20 Transportation Update includes highlights from the Student Arrival and Dismissal Procedures document and other need-to-know information on transportation to and from Jefferson Middle School, specific resources by transportation mode, and transportation safety tools and tips for all:

School Bus                 

All students residing in the Jefferson bus eligibility zone (see tan portion of the bus eligibility zone map) will be assigned school bus transportation and are encouraged to take the school bus.

  • School bus assignments for 2019-20 will be mailed to families by Thursday, August 22. Assignments will also be available on ParentVue.
  • Jefferson students who transferred from their home neighborhood schools are being assigned to centralized “hub stop” locations or nearby bus stops within the Jefferson boundary. Students will be assigned to the stop closest to their home. More information on hub stops is available
  • General information on APS School Bus Transportation for 2019-20 is posted
  • Jefferson school bus drop-off, staging and pick-up will take place at the bus loop located at the northwest corner of the campus, in front of the main entry plaza. See Map A on page 4 of the Student Arrival and Dismissal Procedures
  • For more specifics, see the School Bus section (page 2) of the Jefferson Student Arrival and Dismissal Procedures.

Walking/Biking

Students residing in the areas surrounding Jefferson that are not zoned for bus service (see pink portion of the bus eligibility zone map) are encouraged to walk or bike.  Here are a few resources to help you plan:

 Family Vehicles 

APS encourages families to explore all possible options for traveling to and from school and to utilize healthy, green transportation modes as often as possible. If you must drive, please be aware that:

  • Family vehicle queuing and circulation will take place along South Old Glebe Road. See Map B on page 5 of the Jefferson Student Arrival and Dismissal Procedures
  • Student drop-off and pick-up by family vehicle should occur ONLY along the curb and in the designated drop-off and pick-up zone. Students are not permitted to exit the vehicle onto the roadway.
  • Families will help avoid / minimize vehicle congestion during arrival and dismissal by carpooling where possible and/or identifying remote drop-off and pick-up locations near school (as many families did during 2017-19 construction).
  • Visitor Parking: Whether coming into the building for a quick stop (to pick up your student or drop something off) or to attend a meeting or school event, please use the following parking options. Park along 2nd Street or nearby before 9:00 AM and on S. Old Glebe Road between 9:00 AM and 2:00 PM.  Visitors are welcome to park in the garage after 4:00 PM if spaces are available.  ADA-compliant parking spaces are available on the theater side of Thomas Jefferson Middle School.  In addition, public parking is also available in the lot adjacent to the tennis courts.
  • Important guidelines are outlined in the Private Vehicle Drop off and Pick Up section (pages 2-3) of the Jefferson Student Arrival and Dismissal Procedures

Transportation and Safety Support

To assist our student commuters and families, Jefferson will have support from:

  • Our returning Arlington County Police Department Crossing Guard, who will be stationed at the intersection of South Old Glebe Road and South 2nd Street at arrival and dismissal time each day.
  • Our School Transportation Coordinator Jeremy Siegel, who may be reached at 703-228-5904.

Law Enforcement Support

APS has been working with Arlington County Police to anticipate and support transportation safety needs by:

  • Placing variable messaging signs in multiple locations countywide with messages to alert drivers of school opening (starting in August, following the Arlington County Fair)
  • Conducting enforcement efforts in advance of school opening (starting in August)
  • Stationing officers at key intersections during the first week of school

Transportation Safety Tips

When travelling to, from and near school, please remember to:

  • Remain alert and pay attention to your surroundings whether driving, walking or bicycling
  • Disconnect from your mobile devices and remove earbuds
  • Cross at marked crosswalks
  • Obey all regulatory signs and traffic lights

Visit the APS Safe Routes to School webpage for a complete list of safety suggestions and active transportation resources for all modes.

Watch for additional APS and Safe Routes to School safety materials coming via Peachjar after school opens. 

Transportation Safety Resources and Tools

Safety is our number one priority. The following resources are available, and we encourage you to use them:

Online Resources (posted on Jefferson website as available) 

Tools and Supplies

  • Reflective vests for staff / parent volunteers
  • ShareVaRoads pocket guides for families/staff in English and Spanish

Advance Preparation

APS is committed to working with Jefferson families, staff and the community to make our transition to the 2019-20 school year as seamless as possible, support the opening of Alice West Fleet Elementary School, and ensure all of our students arrive at school safely and on time.

We have been working closely with Fleet Elementary School administrators, staff and families to streamline arrival and dismissal procedures and facilitate use of our shared transportation resources and space.  For planning purposes, please note the Fleet School Day schedule:

  • Normal School Day:  9:00 AM – 3:41 PM
  • Early Release:  1:26 PM
  • Two-Hour Delay:  11:00 AM
  • Extended Day Program:
    • AM      7:00 AM – 8:45 AM
    • PM       3:41 PM – 6:00 PM
  • After School Clubs/Enrichment: 3:45 PM – 4:45 PM

When it comes to safety, we all have a role to play, and we can’t emphasize enough the importance of advance preparation. You know what’s best for you and your student, so we encourage you to take advantage of these transportation resources and opportunities in the weeks ahead to map out your student’s school commute, whether on foot, by bike or by school bus.