博格安校长的问候和重要的交通更新!

杰斐逊中学学生和家庭的问候

(在西班牙(阿姆哈拉语)  (阿拉伯)  (孟加拉)  (蒙)

很难相信,我们距离2019-20学年的杰斐逊中学开门仅两个星期,从29年2019月3日星期四的入学介绍会和2019年19月2019日星期二的开学第一天开始。我们期待着欢迎爱丽丝·韦斯特舰队小学的年轻邻居搬入新楼,并在XNUMX年XNUMX月XNUMX日这一周见到我们自己的杰斐逊教师和员工,当他们回来时,我们将向他们表示欢迎。迄今为止,我们一直在幕后和社区中忙碌,在各个方面努力工作,以确保顺利过渡。 我很高兴地宣布,TJMS主前门入口以及我们各个年级的入口都将重新开放! 校车将在我们主入口附近的新公交车道下车和上车。 此外,在S. Old Glebe路的Alice West舰队小学附近,有一条新的父母/监护人下车和上车车道。 学生将使用人行道从公共汽车,家长下车和上车的地方进入他们的年级入口。 骑自行车的人可以使用位于主入口附近的自行车架来固定自行车。 到达时,学生将根据其年级进入学校大楼:

  • 六年级– 6号门
  • 六年级– 7号门
  • 六年级– 8号门

放学时,学生将通过相应的年级门退出。 为了帮助家庭为第一天做好准备,我们一直在与阿灵顿公立学校交通办公室和阿灵顿县交通局合作,以开发 托马斯·杰斐逊(Thomas Jefferson)初中学生到达和解雇程序 对于2019-20。 我们鼓励您尽早在网上查看此综合文档和其他资源。 我感谢我们 家长教师协会 (PTA)和整个Jefferson社区为您提供支持。 我们期待在暑假的剩余几周与学生,家庭和教职员工合作,以确保成功地开始2019-20学年。

校长Keisha Boggan                                                                                                           

keisha.boggan@apsva.us

杰斐逊中学 2019-20交通更新

开学的第一天从学生离开家的那一刻开始,因此无论学生乘公共汽车,步行还是骑自行车,对于家庭来说,提前计划和测试通勤都很重要。 为了支持您的通勤计划,本2019-20交通更新中包含了 学生到达和解散程序文件 以及其他往返杰斐逊中学的交通运输方面的须知信息,按交通方式划分的特定资源以及适用于所有人的交通安全工具和提示:

校车                 

居住在杰斐逊公交车合格区的所有学生(请参阅 巴士资格区域地图)将被分配校车交通,并鼓励乘坐校车。

  • 2019-20年度的校车作业将在22月XNUMX日星期四之前邮寄给家庭。 亲子.
  • 从家乡学校转移过来的杰斐逊学生将被分配到杰斐逊边界内的集中式“枢纽站”位置或附近的巴士站。 学生将被分配到离他们家最近的车站。 提供有关枢纽站的更多信息
  • 发布了2019-20年度APS校车运输的一般信息
  • 杰斐逊校车的下车,分段和接送将在校园西北角,主入口广场前面的公交环路内进行。 请参阅地图4的地图A。 学生到达和解雇程序
  • 有关更多详细信息,请参见 校车 Jefferson的第2页 学生到达和解雇程序.

步行/骑自行车

居住在杰斐逊(Jefferson)周边地区但未划定巴士服务区域的学生(请参阅 巴士资格区域地图)鼓励步行或骑自行车。 以下是一些可帮助您计划的资源:

 家用车 

APS鼓励家庭探索往返学校的所有可能选择,并尽可能多地利用健康,绿色的交通方式。 如果您必须开车,请注意:

  • 家庭车辆排队和流通将在South Old Glebe Road进行。 请参阅Jefferson第5页的地图B 学生到达和解雇程序
  • 只能通过路边沿和在指定的上下车区域内进行家庭交通工具的学生上下车。 学生不得将车辆驶出车道。
  • 家庭将通过可能的拼车和/或识别来帮助避免/减少到达和解散期间的车辆拥堵 r在学校附近(例如许多家庭在2017-19建校期间所做的事情)布置上下车地点。
  • 访客停车: 无论是进入建筑物以快速停车(接您的学生或下车)还是参加会议或学校活动,请使用以下停车选项。 在2:9 AM之前在00nd Street或附近停车,并在9:00 AM和2:00 PM之间在S. Old Glebe Road上停车。 如果有空位,欢迎访客在4:00 PM之后停放在车库。 托马斯·杰斐逊中学的剧院一侧提供符合ADA的停车位。 此外,在网球场附近的地段还设有公共停车场。
  • 重要准则在 私家车接送 Jefferson的部分(第2-3页) 学生到达和解雇程序

运输和安全支持

为了帮助我们的学生通勤者和家庭,杰斐逊将获得以下方面的支持:

  • 我们返回的阿灵顿县警察局过境警卫队每天将在到达和撤离时间驻守在South Old Glebe Road和South 2nd Street的交叉路口。
  • 我们学校的交通协调员杰里米·西格尔(Jeremy Siegel),请致电703-228-5904。

执法支持

APS已与阿灵顿县警察局合作,通过以下方面预测和支持运输安全需求:

  • 在全县范围内的多个位置放置可变消息传递标志,以警告驾驶员学校开学(从XNUMX月开始,在阿灵顿县博览会之后)
  • 开学前进行执法工作(八月开始)
  • 开学第一周在主要十字路口派驻人员

运输安全提示

在去学校和附近旅行时,请记住:

  • 保持警觉并注意周围环境,无论是开车,步行还是骑自行车
  • 断开与移动设备的连接并拔出耳塞
  • 在标记的人行横道处交叉
  • 遵守所有管制标志和交通信号灯

点击 黄芪多糖 学校的安全路线 网页 有关的完整列表 安全建议和活跃的运输资源 适用于所有模式。

留意其他APS和通往学校的安全路线的安全材料 通过Peachjar 开学后。 

运输安全资源和工具

安全是我们的第一要务。 提供了以下资源,我们鼓励您使用它们:

在线资源(发布于 杰斐逊 网站可用) 

工具和用品

  • 员工/家长志愿者的反光背心
  • ShareVaRoads面向家庭/员工的袖珍指南 英语西班牙语

提前准备

APS致力于与Jefferson的家人,员工和社区合作,以尽可能无缝地过渡到2019-20学年,支持Alice West Fleet小学的开学,并确保我们所有的学生安全地到达学校并准时。

我们一直与舰队小学的管理人员,员工和家属紧密合作,以简化进场和退场手续,并便利使用我们共享的交通资源和空间。 出于计划目的,请注意“舰队开学日”时间表:

  • 正常上学日:  9:00 AM - 3:41 PM
  • 抢先发行:  下午 1:26 点
  • 两小时延迟:  中午 11:00 点
  • 延长日计划:
    • 上午7:00 –上午8:45
    • 下午3:41 PM – 6:00 PM
  • 课后俱乐部/娱乐活动: 3:45 PM - 4:45 PM

在安全方面,我们每个人都可以发挥作用,并且我们不能足够强调预备工作的重要性。 您知道最适合您和您的学生的地方,因此我们鼓励您在接下来的几周中利用这些运输资源和机会,规划步行,骑自行车或乘校车的学生上下班时间。

Greetings from Principal Boggan and an Important Transportation Update!

Greetings Jefferson Middle School Students and Families

(En español(Amharic)  (Arabic)  (Bengali)  (Mongolian)

It’s hard to believe that we are just two weeks from opening the doors to Jefferson Middle School for the 2019-20 school year—starting with Orientation on Thursday, August 29, 2019 and the first day of school on Tuesday, September 3, 2019. We’re looking forward to welcoming our younger neighbors at Alice West Fleet Elementary School as they move into their new building, and to seeing our own Jefferson teachers and staff when they return, during the week of August 19, 2019. Leading up to these dates, we remain busy behind the scenes and in the community, working on all fronts to ensure a smooth transition.  I am happy to announce the reopening of TJMS’ main front door entrance as well as our individual grade level entrances!  School busses will drop-off and pick-up in our new bus lane near our main entrance. In addition, there is a new parent/guardian drop-off and pick-up lane adjacent to Alice West Fleet Elementary School on S. Old Glebe Road.  Students will use the walkways from bus and parent drop-off and pick-up to access their grade level entrances. Bike riders can use bike racks located near the main front entrance to secure bikes. At arrival, students will enter the school building according to their grade:

  • 6th Grade – Door 17
  • 7th Grade – Door 16
  • 8th Grade – Door 15

At dismissal, students will exit through their appropriate grade level doors. To help families prepare for day 1, we’ve been working with Arlington Public Schools Transportation offices and Arlington County Department of Transportation to develop Thomas Jefferson Middle School Student Arrival and Dismissal Procedures for 2019-20. We encourage you to review this comprehensive document and other resources online at your earliest convenience. I thank our Parent-Teacher Association (PTA) and the entire Jefferson community for your support. We look forward to working together with students, families and staff in the remaining weeks of the summer to ensure a successful start to the 2019-20 school year.

Principal Keisha Boggan                                                                                                           

keisha.boggan@apsva.us

JEFFERSON MIDDLE SCHOOL 2019-20 TRANSPORTATION UPDATE

The first day of school begins the minute students leave home, so whether students are taking the bus, walking or biking, it’s important for families to plan and test commutes ahead of time. To support your commute planning, this 2019-20 Transportation Update includes highlights from the Student Arrival and Dismissal Procedures document and other need-to-know information on transportation to and from Jefferson Middle School, specific resources by transportation mode, and transportation safety tools and tips for all:

School Bus                 

All students residing in the Jefferson bus eligibility zone (see tan portion of the bus eligibility zone map) will be assigned school bus transportation and are encouraged to take the school bus.

  • School bus assignments for 2019-20 will be mailed to families by Thursday, August 22. Assignments will also be available on ParentVue.
  • Jefferson students who transferred from their home neighborhood schools are being assigned to centralized “hub stop” locations or nearby bus stops within the Jefferson boundary. Students will be assigned to the stop closest to their home. More information on hub stops is available
  • General information on APS School Bus Transportation for 2019-20 is posted
  • Jefferson school bus drop-off, staging and pick-up will take place at the bus loop located at the northwest corner of the campus, in front of the main entry plaza. See Map A on page 4 of the Student Arrival and Dismissal Procedures
  • For more specifics, see the School Bus section (page 2) of the Jefferson Student Arrival and Dismissal Procedures.

Walking/Biking

Students residing in the areas surrounding Jefferson that are not zoned for bus service (see pink portion of the bus eligibility zone map) are encouraged to walk or bike.  Here are a few resources to help you plan:

 Family Vehicles 

APS encourages families to explore all possible options for traveling to and from school and to utilize healthy, green transportation modes as often as possible. If you must drive, please be aware that:

  • Family vehicle queuing and circulation will take place along South Old Glebe Road. See Map B on page 5 of the Jefferson Student Arrival and Dismissal Procedures
  • Student drop-off and pick-up by family vehicle should occur ONLY along the curb and in the designated drop-off and pick-up zone. Students are not permitted to exit the vehicle onto the roadway.
  • Families will help avoid / minimize vehicle congestion during arrival and dismissal by carpooling where possible and/or identifying remote drop-off and pick-up locations near school (as many families did during 2017-19 construction).
  • Visitor Parking: Whether coming into the building for a quick stop (to pick up your student or drop something off) or to attend a meeting or school event, please use the following parking options. Park along 2nd Street or nearby before 9:00 AM and on S. Old Glebe Road between 9:00 AM and 2:00 PM.  Visitors are welcome to park in the garage after 4:00 PM if spaces are available.  ADA-compliant parking spaces are available on the theater side of Thomas Jefferson Middle School.  In addition, public parking is also available in the lot adjacent to the tennis courts.
  • Important guidelines are outlined in the Private Vehicle Drop off and Pick Up section (pages 2-3) of the Jefferson Student Arrival and Dismissal Procedures

Transportation and Safety Support

To assist our student commuters and families, Jefferson will have support from:

  • Our returning Arlington County Police Department Crossing Guard, who will be stationed at the intersection of South Old Glebe Road and South 2nd Street at arrival and dismissal time each day.
  • Our School Transportation Coordinator Jeremy Siegel, who may be reached at 703-228-5904.

Law Enforcement Support

APS has been working with Arlington County Police to anticipate and support transportation safety needs by:

  • Placing variable messaging signs in multiple locations countywide with messages to alert drivers of school opening (starting in August, following the Arlington County Fair)
  • Conducting enforcement efforts in advance of school opening (starting in August)
  • Stationing officers at key intersections during the first week of school

Transportation Safety Tips

When travelling to, from and near school, please remember to:

  • Remain alert and pay attention to your surroundings whether driving, walking or bicycling
  • Disconnect from your mobile devices and remove earbuds
  • Cross at marked crosswalks
  • Obey all regulatory signs and traffic lights

Visit the APS Safe Routes to School webpage for a complete list of safety suggestions and active transportation resources for all modes.

Watch for additional APS and Safe Routes to School safety materials coming via Peachjar after school opens. 

Transportation Safety Resources and Tools

Safety is our number one priority. The following resources are available, and we encourage you to use them:

Online Resources (posted on Jefferson website as available) 

Tools and Supplies

  • Reflective vests for staff / parent volunteers
  • ShareVaRoads pocket guides for families/staff in English and Spanish

Advance Preparation

APS is committed to working with Jefferson families, staff and the community to make our transition to the 2019-20 school year as seamless as possible, support the opening of Alice West Fleet Elementary School, and ensure all of our students arrive at school safely and on time.

We have been working closely with Fleet Elementary School administrators, staff and families to streamline arrival and dismissal procedures and facilitate use of our shared transportation resources and space.  For planning purposes, please note the Fleet School Day schedule:

  • Normal School Day:  9:00 AM – 3:41 PM
  • Early Release:  1:26 PM
  • Two-Hour Delay:  11:00 AM
  • Extended Day Program:
    • AM      7:00 AM – 8:45 AM
    • PM       3:41 PM – 6:00 PM
  • After School Clubs/Enrichment: 3:45 PM – 4:45 PM

When it comes to safety, we all have a role to play, and we can’t emphasize enough the importance of advance preparation. You know what’s best for you and your student, so we encourage you to take advantage of these transportation resources and opportunities in the weeks ahead to map out your student’s school commute, whether on foot, by bike or by school bus.