关于 Megan Detweiler – 天才资源教师

脸射2

您好,欢迎来到杰斐逊中学 2021-2022 学年。 我是 Megan Detweiler,天才资源教师 (RTG)。 我毕业于威斯康星大学麦迪逊分校,并持有威廉玛丽学院的天才认可。 我的教学经验包括在亚利桑那州凤凰城教中学科学、社会研究和英语五年,以及在亚历山大和阿灵顿教中学英语六年。 这是我在 Jefferson 担任 RTG 的第三年。 我和我的丈夫以及三个孩子(10、7、4)住在阿灵顿。

在杰斐逊,有超过 350 名被认定为天才的学生。 作为一名 RTG,我致力于为这些学生提供服务,我致力于为可能尚未被认定为有天赋的学生发展才能并培养他们的潜力。 我的理念是,APS 天才教育模式是我们大多数学生的最佳实践。 我觉得大多数学生都受益于批判性思维机会、严谨的课程和互动策略。

由于被认定为天才的学生人数众多,你们的学生不会以我为核心老师,也不会拉小群学生。 我的工作主要是作为一名教学教练、一名助理教师和一名职业发展的促进者。 如果您的孩子被认定为天才,他们的老师将了解 APS 天才模式,并会采用 APS批判性和创造性思维框架 全年和跨内容领域。

About Megan Detweiler – Resource Teacher for the Gifted

face shot 2

Hello and welcome to the 2021-2022 school year at Jefferson Middle School. I am Megan Detweiler, resource teacher for the gifted (RTG). I am a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison and hold my gifted endorsement from the College of William and Mary. My teaching experience includes five years of teaching middle school science, social studies, and English in Phoenix, AZ, and six years of teaching middle school English in Alexandria and Arlington. This is my third year as RTG at Jefferson. I live in Arlington with my husband and three kids (10, 7, 4).

At Jefferson there are over 350 students identified as gifted. As an RTG I am dedicated to serving these students and I am committed to developing talent and fostering potential in students who may not be identified as gifted yet. It is my philosophy that the APS model for gifted education is best practice for most of our students. I feel that most students benefit from critical thinking opportunities, rigorous curriculum, and engaging interaction strategies.

Due to the large number of students identified as gifted, your students will not have me as a core teacher, nor will I pull small groups of students. I work largely as an instructional coach, as a co-teacher, and as a facilitator of professional development. If your child is identified as gifted, their teachers will have knowledge of the APS gifted model and will employ the APS critical and creative thinking framework throughout the year and across content areas.