关于 SOL 考试成绩的常见问题解答

弗吉尼亚学习标准 (SOL) 测试的及格分数是多少?

弗吉尼亚 SOL 测试的及格分数是 400,基于范围为 0 到 600 的报告等级。0 到 399 的等级分数意味着学生没有通过测试。 400 到 499 的比例分数表示学生通过了测试并被归类为精通。 500 到 600 的比例分数表示学生通过了测试并被归类为高级。

什么是标度分数?

比例分数是原始测试分数的数学变换,原始测试分数是学生正确回答问题的实际数量。 这种类型的转换与将英寸转换为厘米或将华氏度转换为摄氏度没有什么不同。 在这两种情况下,被测量事物的大小在转换过程中都不会改变,只是用来表示该大小的单位。 在报告 SOL 测试成绩的情况下,当学生的原始测试分数转换为比例分数时,学生的相对排名和通过/未通过状态不会改变,只有用于表达他们表现的单位。

为什么考试分数是相等的和按比例缩放的?

通过重复的测试管理,个别测试问题可能会暴露出来。 因此,弗吉尼亚 SOL 测试程序在每个测试窗口期间使用多个测试表格,然后在后续测试窗口中刷新这些表格。 尽管每个新的测试表格都是使用相同的一组已批准的内容规范构建的,并且每一次尝试都在难度方面匹配测试表格,但在某些情况下,测试的难度会略有不同,因为不同的测试表格上会出现不同的问题。 因为要求参加稍微困难一点的考试的学生与参加更简单的考试的学生正确回答同样多的问题是不公平的,所以使用了一种称为等式的统计程序。 等同化是将一个测试的一组分数转换为另一个测试相同内容的测试的一组分数的过程,以便从任一测试中得出的分数是等效的并且可以互换(Angoff,1982)。 通过这个过程,及格分数被等同起来,这样学生既不会因考试形式的优势也不会受到不利影响。

一旦测试分数被等同起来,就需要一个共同的参考框架来解释和报告测试表现。 您可以想象,即使已经确定了等同的分数,但如果针对不同的测试报告不同的及格分数,那将是多么混乱。 比例分数提供了共同的参考框架。 重要的是要记住,使用比例分数不会对学生通过考试的能力或他们的表现分类产生负面影响。 比例分数仅代表使用所有应试者的通用比例来报告学生表现的另一种方式。

及格分数是如何确定的?

弗吉尼亚 SOL 评估的及格分数是使用称为标准设置的系统过程确定的。 来自弗吉尼亚州各地的教育工作者被选中参加确定与 SOL 测试内容相关的性能标准的工作组。 在标准制定咨询委员会 (SSAC) 的指导下,这些工作组首先审查 SOL 测试蓝图,然后对每个表现级别的学生应该知道和能够做的事情进行描述。 工作组使用一个正式的、基于研究的过程来判断测试问题以及每个熟练程度的学生在这些问题上的表现。 完成此流程后,SSAC 向弗吉尼亚教育委员会提交了一份建议,以供其批准。 经过审查,弗吉尼亚教育委员会采用了提议的标准,并将其应用于当前和未来的 SOL 测试形式。

如果学生重新参加考试,他们会得到相同的分数吗?

如果参加了另一个版本的测试,学生可能会获得略有不同的分数,因为没有一个测试具有 100% 的准确性和一致性。 如果一个候选人参加了几个不同版本的测试,他们可能会得到许多不同的分数,这些分数集中在他们的典型或平均分数附近。 正如您所预料的那样,他们的某些分数会高于平均分数,而某些分数会低于平均分数。 在实际操作中,您不知道平均分,而只知道单次考试的分数。 因此,可以使用称为测量误差的概念来估计学生的实际真实分数所在的位置。 通常,在开发测试表格和为这些测试设置通过点时会考虑测量误差。

学生成绩的哪些信息会提供给家长?

家长将收到一份报告,详细说明学生在 SOL 评估中的表现。 报告包含有关学生参加的每项考试的信息、他或她的比例分数和表现水平。 SOL 评估的比例分数范围为 0 到 600。绩效水平指标报告为失败/基本、通过/熟练和通过/高级。

FAQs about SOL Test Scores

What is the passing score for the Virginia Standards of Learning (SOL) tests?

The passing score for the Virginia SOL tests is 400 based on a reporting scale that ranges from 0 to 600. A scaled score of 0 to 399 means a student did not pass a test. A scaled score of 400 to 499 means a student passed a test and was classified as Proficient. A scaled score of 500 to 600 means a student passed a test and was classified as Advanced.

What is a scaled score?

A scaled score is a mathematical transformation of a raw test score, which is the actual number of questions a student answers correctly. This type of transformation is not unlike converting inches into centimeters or Fahrenheit degrees to Celsius. In both cases, the magnitude of the thing being measured does not change during the transformation process, only the units used to express that magnitude. In the case of reporting SOL test performance, a student’s relative standing and pass/fail status do not change when their raw test score is transformed into a scaled score, only the units used to express their performance.

Why are test scores equated and scaled?

Individual test questions can become exposed through repeated test administrations. Because of this, the Virginia SOL testing program uses multiple test forms during each testing window and then refreshes those forms across subsequent testing windows. Although each new test form is constructed using the same set of approved content specifications, and every attempt is made to match test forms in terms of their difficulty, there are instances when tests vary slightly in difficulty because different questions appear on different test forms. Because it would be unfair to require a student taking a slightly more difficult form of a test to answer as many questions correctly as a student taking an easier form of that test, a statistical procedure known as equating is used. Equating is the process of converting a set of scores on one test to a set of scores on another test that measures the same content so that scores derived from either test are equivalent and interchangeable (Angoff, 1982). Through this process, passing scores are equated so that students are neither advantaged nor disadvantaged by the test form that is administered to them.

Once test scores have been equated, a common frame of reference is required to interpret and report test performance. You can imagine how confusing it would be if different passing scores were reported for different tests, even though equated scores had been determined. Scaled scores provide that common frame of reference. The important thing to remember is that the use of scaled scores does not negatively impact a student’s ability to pass a test or their performance classification. Scaled scores merely represent an alternative way to report student performance using a common scale for all test takers.

How was the passing score determined?

Passing scores for the Virginia SOL assessments were established using a systematic process called Standard Setting. Educators from across the state of Virginia were selected to participate in workgroups that identified performance standards associated with SOL test content. Under the guidance of a Standards Setting Advisory Committee (SSAC), these workgroups began by reviewing the SOL test blueprints and then developing descriptions of what a student at each performance level should know and be able to do. Workgroups used a formalized, research-based process to make judgments about test questions and how students at each level of proficiency would perform on them. At the completion of this process, the SSAC submitted a recommendation to the Virginia Board of Education for their approval. Following their review, the Virginia Board of Education adopted the proposed standards and applied them to current and future SOL test forms.

Will a student get the same score if they retake a test?

If another version of a test was taken, a student might obtain a slightly different score because no single test measures with 100% accuracy and consistency. If a candidate took several different versions of a test, they would probably obtain a number of different scores that cluster around their typical or average score. As you would expect, some of their scores would be higher and some would be lower than their average score. In actual practice, you do not know an average score, but only the score from a single test administration. Because of this, a concept known as error of measurement can be used to estimate where a student’s actual real score is positioned. Typically, error of measurement is something that is considered when developing test forms and setting passing points for those tests.

What information about student scores will be provided to parents?

Parents will be provided with a report that details their student’s performance on SOL assessments. Reports contain information about each test a student took, his or her scaled score and a level of performance. Scaled scores for the SOL assessments range from 0 to 600. Performance level indicators are reported as Fail/Basic, Pass/Proficient and Pass/Advanced.