2019 Battle of the Books

The 2019 Jefferson Battle of the Books is coming soon!!

We will announce our nominees for the Battle of the Books this week, probably on Feb. 14th.  We will let you know a bit about the books in the coming weeks, and the Battle begins on Monday, March 4th!!


Congratulations to Refugee by Alan Gratz, the 2018 Jefferson MS Battle of the Books Champion!


Our Final Four of books was amazing:

  • First rule of punk – Celia C. Pérez
  • Refugee – Alan Gratz
  • Restart – Gordon Korman
  • Warcross – Marie Lu

Try one of our Battle of the Books titles (all available in your Jefferson Library, through MackinVia, or at the Arlington Public Library:


  • 57 bus – Dashka Slater
  • All’s faire in middle school – Victoria Jamieson
  • Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora – Pablo Cartaya
  • First rule of punk – Celia C. Pérez
  • Hello, universe – Erin Entrada Kelly
  • Long way down – Jason Reynolds
  • Patina (Track) – Jason Reynolds
  • Perfect score – Rob Buyea
  • Refugee – Alan Gratz
  • Renegades – Marissa Meyer
  • Restart – Gordon Korman
  • Scar Island – Dan Gemeinhart
  • Ship of the dead (Magnus Chase) – Rick Riordan
  • Solo – Kwame Alexander
  • Warbringer (Wonder Woman) – Leigh Bardugo
  • Warcross – Marie Lu