六年级新生的信息

面向六年级新生的TJMS乐队计划信息

单击此处下载一页带程序信息手册

 作为六年级生进入杰斐逊中学的学生在蓝色音乐会乐队中表演。

  • 蓝色音乐会乐队是所有6年级乐队学生的合奏。 蓝色乐队的学生在冬季乐队音乐会(XNUMX月),APS乐队评估(XNUMX月),春季乐队音乐会(XNUMX月)和公园音乐比赛之旅(XNUMX月/ XNUMX月)中表演。
  • 提交课程请求后,学生将按乐器分组:黄铜或木管乐器与打击乐。 蓝色音乐会乐队的教学与众不同,可以满足高级演奏者,经验丰富的演奏者切换乐器和初学者的需求。
  • 蓝色音乐会乐队是合奏的名称,但不是课程请求表(CRF)上的班级名称。 有关CRF的更多信息,请参见下面!

 我应该在课程申请表(CRF)上报名参加什么课程?

  • Advanced Band(19229)是针对在小学曾弹奏乐器一年或以上的学生的课程代码。 在CRF上,请指明您当前演奏的乐器以及演奏了多少年。
  • 入门乐队(19230)是以前没有弹奏乐器的学生的课程代码。 请勿在CRF上注明任何工具或多年经验。 欢迎任何学生报名参加此课程!
  • 关于班级名称的说明:请注意,您的学生在其CRF上申请的课程名称可能不是XNUMX月份时间表中的课程名称-可以! 杰斐逊音乐老师和辅导人员在整个春季,夏季和秋季都一起工作,以确保每个学生都可以参加适当的课程!

中学乐队与小学乐队有何不同?

  • 杰斐逊中学在放学期间和放学后提供广泛的表演机会,这是小学阶段所没有的。 这些合奏包括音乐会和交响乐团,爵士乐队,Pep(篮球)乐队和打击乐团。 杰斐逊乐队的学生在这一年中有许多表演,包括冬季和春季音乐部门的音乐会,APS游行乐队表演,地区乐队评估,六年级新生,国际之夜以及我们的年度春季旅行比赛/表演。 学生每次表演还将获得IB社区服务时间。
  • 鼓励所有学生挑战个人,通过参加全县和全区荣誉乐队的试镜,并参加第十二区独奏和合奏节。
  • 中学乐队最好的事情之一是,尽管学生可以在一年中发展自己的音乐能力,但他们还可以学习重要的生活技能,包括责任心,团队合作,自尊,决心和承诺。
  • 小乐队的学生通常每周一次,每次30分钟,而杰斐逊音乐会和初学者乐队则每天,每周45天,每天5分钟,一次,每周总计240分钟的教学时间! 与小学相比,学生能够更快地提高和改善他们的音乐能力和音乐阅读技能。

我会弹什么乐器?

  • 想象一下,杰斐逊乐队是一支足球队。 为了拥有一支成功的团队,必须涵盖所有职位。 这意味着并非每个玩家都可以成为四分卫。 像一支足球队一样,一支成功的乐队需要掩盖所有乐器部件。 虽然我们需要学生弹奏小号,长笛,萨克斯管和打击乐器,但我们经常需要学生弹奏较少见的乐器,例如长号,次中音和双簧管以及圆号。 此外,中学提供的乐器选择多于小学提供的乐器,因此一些经验丰富的学生选择更换乐器。
  • 在春季末期和秋季初,音乐老师与学生和家庭一起选择乐器。 选择乐器时要考虑的因素包括:
    • 学生的兴趣(这非常重要!)
    • 学生天生对特定乐器的天赋
    • 已经拥有乐器和/或参加了私人课程的学生
    • 确保乐队的乐器平衡。
    • 可从学校和/或当地音乐商店租借乐器

我的学生还会有时间追求其他兴趣和活动吗? 如果我的学生想参加另一门选修课,例如戏剧,艺术,家庭与消费者科学或技术教育,该怎么办?

  • 参加杰斐逊中学乐队需要付出努力和承诺,而学生则形成了持久的友谊和美好的回忆。 许多杰斐逊乐队的学生仍然有足够的时间去追求他们的其他兴趣,包括校际间和校内体育,啦啦队,艺术俱乐部,杰斐逊年度戏剧作品,国家青少年荣誉协会,学术标志和MathCounts等众多活动。
  • 报名参加乐队的6年级上升学生将参加Band(每天,全年)世界语言班(每年,每天)和PE(每年,每年)体育课。 他们还可以选择报名参加第二课(课后)课程之一,例如艺术,戏剧,家庭与消费科学和技术教育。 杰斐逊没有提供第二课(放学后)乐队课程。

我有一个尚未在此处回答的问题。 我应该问谁?

  • 如果您对课程申请表(CRF)有疑问,请咨询您学生的小学辅导员。
  • 如果您对杰斐逊乐队有疑问,请联系杰斐逊乐队的老师,卡特里娜·唐奇瑟姆瑟兰(“ T女士”) c.tangchittsumran@apsva.us 或703-228-5900。 Twitter用户可以“发布”问题以 @TJMSBand

 如何获得在乐队中演奏的乐器?

  • 通过当地的音乐商店参加“ Rent-to-Own”计划-这通常是获得高质量乐器的最经济有效的方式!
  • 购买乐器(请咨询您的音乐老师以获取建议!)
  • 从学校租借乐器(适用于免费/减价午餐的学生,或演奏双簧管,巴松管,大号,次中音和中音萨克斯风等乐器的学生。)

 我需要练习多少?

  • 要求学生每周至少20天每天练习5分钟。
  • 放学后可为无法在家练习或不想随身携带乐器的学生提供练习室。

请与我们一起参加6年2015月7日(星期三)下午00:XNUMX在杰斐逊剧院举行的杰斐逊春季乐队音乐会!

Information for Rising 6th Grade Students

TJMS Band Program Information for Rising 6th Graders

CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD THE ONE-PAGE BAND PROGRAM INFORMATION FLYER

 Students entering Jefferson Middle School as Sixth Graders perform in Concert Band Blue.

  • The  Concert Band Blue is the ensemble for all 6th grade band students.  Students in Concert Band Blue perform during the Winter Band Concert (December), APS Band Assessment (February), Spring Band Concert (May), and the Music in the Parks Competition Trip (May/June).
  • Once course requests have been submitted, students will be divided into classes grouped by instrument: Brass or Woodwinds & Percussion.  Instruction in Concert Band Blue is differentiated to meet the needs of advanced players, experienced players switching instruments, and beginning students.
  • Concert Band Blue is the name of the ensemble but is NOT the name of the class on the Course Request Form (CRF).  More information on the CRF is available below!

 What class should I sign up for on my Course Request Form (CRF)?

  • Advanced Band (19229) is the course code for students who have played an instrument for one or more years in elementary school.  On the CRF, please indicate which instrument you currently play and for how many years you have played it.
  • Beginning Band (19230) is the course code for students who have NOT played an instrument before.  Do NOT indicate an instrument or years of experience on your CRF.  Any student is welcome to sign up for this course!
  • A note about class names: Please be aware that the name of the course which your student requests on their CRF may not be the name of the course on their schedule in September–and that’s okay!  The Jefferson music teachers and counseling staff work together throughout the Spring, Summer, and Fall to ensure that every student is enrolled in the appropriate class!

How is Middle School Band different from Elementary School Band?

  • Jefferson Middle School offers a wide variety of performance opportunities, both during and after school, that are not offered at the elementary level.  These ensembles include the Concert and Symphonic Bands, Jazz Band, Pep (Basketball) Band, and Percussion Ensemble.  Jefferson Band Students have numerous performances during the year, including the Winter & Spring Music Department Concerts, APS Marching Band Showcase, District Band Assessment, Rising 6th Grade Orientation, International Night, and our Annual Spring Trip Competition/Performance.  Students also earn IB Community Service hours for each performance.
  • All students are encouraged to challenge themselves as individual musicians by auditioning for the All-County and All-District Honors Bands, and participating in the District XII Solo & Ensemble Festival.
  • One of the best things about Middle School Band is that, while students are able to develop their musical ability over the course of the year, they also learn important life skills including responsibility, teamwork, self-respect, determination, and commitment.
  • While elementary band students usually meet once per week for 30 minutes, the Jefferson Concert & Beginning bands meet for 45 minutes each day, 5 days per week—that adds up to 240 minutes of instruction every week!  Students are able to improve and refine their musical abilities and music-reading skills far more quickly than they did in elementary school.

What instrument will I play?

  • Imagine that the Jefferson Band is a football team. In order to have a successful team, all positions need to be covered.  This means that not every player can be the quarterback.  Like a football team, a successful band requires that all instrument parts are covered.  While we need students to play trumpet, flute, saxophone, and percussion, we often need students to play less common instruments such as trombone, euphonium, and oboe, and french horn. Additionally, more instrument options are available in middle school than are offered in elementary school, so some experienced students choose to switch instruments.
  • In the late Spring and early Fall, the music teachers work with students and families on instrument selections.  Factors that are considered when selecting an instrument include:
    • Student interest (this is VERY important!)
    • Students’ natural aptitude for a specific instrument
    • Students who already own instruments and/or have taken private lessons
    • Ensuring that the band has balanced instrumentation.
    • Availability of instruments for rental from the school and/or local music store

Will my student still have time to pursue other interests and activities?  What if my student would like to take another elective class, such as Drama, Art, Family & Consumer Sciences, or Technology Education?

  • While participation in the Jefferson Middle School Band takes effort and commitment, students form lasting friendships and fond memories.  Many Jefferson Band students still have plenty of time to pursue their other interests, including Interscholastic & Intramural Sports, Cheerleading, Art Club, Jefferson’s Annual Drama Production, National Junior Honor Society, Academic Hallmarks, and MathCounts, among many other activities.
  • Rising 6th grade students who sign up for band will take Band (every day, all year) World Language class (every other day, all year) and a PE class (every other day, all year).  They may also choose to sign up for one of the Act II (after school) classes being offered, such as Art, Drama, Family & Consumer Sciences, and Technology Education.  There are no Act II (after school) band class offerings available at Jefferson.

I have a question that has not been answered here.  Who should I ask?

  • If you have questions about the Course Request Form (CRF), please see your student’s elementary school counselor.
  • If you have questions about the Jefferson Band, please contact the Jefferson Band teacher, Catrina Tangchittsumran (“Ms. T”) at c.tangchittsumran@apsva.us or 703-228-5900.  Twitter users can “tweet” questions to @TJMSBand

 How do I obtain an instrument to play in the band?

  • Participate in a Rent-to-Own program through a local music store – this is often the most cost-effective way to obtain a high quality instrument!
  • Purchase an instrument (please see your music teacher for recommendations!)
  • Rent an instrument from the school (available to students on Free/Reduced Lunch OR to students playing instruments such as oboe, bassoon, tuba, euphonium, and baritone saxophone.)

 How much will I need to practice?

  • Students are expected to practice a minimum of 20 minutes per day, 5 days per week.
  • Practice rooms are available after school for students who cannot practice at home or who would prefer not to carry an instrument back and forth.

Please join us for the Jefferson Spring Band Concert on Wednesday, May 6, 2015 at 7:00pm in the Jefferson Theatre!